Power Animals

I visited my mentor last week. A few months ago we had a discussion about my power animal. He thought I was mistaken about what I thought were my power animals. Many years before, I had gone to a shaman to journey to my animals, he said I had 2 power animals, bear and deer. At that time I didn’t understand much about power animals , in fact, based on that experience… thought shamanism just wasn’t for me. Years later… the discussion comes up again, after I have embraced a shamanic way of living.

So I was invited to journey with Marv to finally meet my power animal. I asked him what is the difference between a power animal and a regular animal’s energy? His answer was that we can call any animal energy to work with us, but our power animal has dedicated itself to us, and we can call it at any time, and its there.

So I went on a wonderful journey to finally meet my power animal. When I finally met this new animal, I could see how much more powerful the connection was. I felt like I have met my beloved. Now when I close my eyes to sleep, I see my power animal there waiting to connect with me. I can feel him in my heart, and I feel very different! My power animal is there by my side, offering me its qualities, its strength, and I am beginning to see how my personality actually reflects the qualities of my power animal, so cool!

So I would invite you, if you have any interest or inclination to journey to learn about your power animal, act on it. Its a liberating experience to have access to such powerful support available to us if we just look for it.

About Deanna Wind Haven Shaman

Deanna Strandquist is a modern day Shaman who practices Simple Living that feeds your Soul. Find tips and ideas that help you on the journey to simple living. Wind Haven Shaman
This entry was posted in Animals, Shamanic Studies, shamanism, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Power Animals

  1. Carol Leigh Rice says:

    Deanna, I love the way you talk about your power animal. I know exactly what you mean…it is a love that is so deep, and I felt it connected with some ability within me to love that I didn’t even know I had? It is always a surprise when they arrive, they do pick us, and that is the “secret” really. You can love an animal in everyday life, and assume it must be “your power animal” but not necessarily, as it will turn out!

    • Deanna says:

      Yes, I agree with your words, a deep love. Its a unique relationship, and I believe a profoundly powerful force in our life, if we choose to tap into this energy.
      And what I find so interesting is why this deep connection showed up now in my life rather than 10 years ago when I first explored it. Obviously now is the perfect time for this deep connection to come into my life, as I step forward on my path. That is what is so inspiring, our lives are not predictable, each person has a unique experience to share, and its perfection!

Leave a Reply

