Importance of Ceremony in our Life

Find an authentic way to add ritual and ceremony to mark your milestones in life.

I signed up to volunteer at a Pow Wow this Saturday in Calgary. It is an initiation Pow Wow, Honoring the Children.  I am so excited! I have never been to a pow wow before, and I am not native, so I’m thrilled to be part of this experience.

I believe that Ceremony is a big part of life that may have been forgotten by many of us.  Many of us might have grown up in families where we went to church, and weddings, funerals, baptisms, christenings, holidays, may have been part of our tradition. Many still follow organized religion.

I grew up in a religious family, so had much ceremony and ritual as part of my life. But I decided to leave my religion in my 20’s, and for a few years, stayed as far away as I could from anything resembling organized religion.

But years later, I have found that I want to experience ceremony again. So what part can ceremony play in my life? I have come to find for me personally that spirituality can look very different from religion, and it’s what feels right for me, what is authentic to me.

What is the significance and power of ceremony? It is the language of the sacred, whether we call it God, the Universe, or “Life”. We celebrate the moment with ceremony.  It doesn’t always have to be serious.

Ceremony must be authentic, it must be relevant to the moment and honors and celebrates all who are present. Ceremony and ritual also mark time periods in our life… our birth… our death… and the moments in between. So how will you mark the milestones in life? Choose ritual and ceremony that works for you.

Check back… I will let you know how the Native tradition Honors the Children.

About Deanna Wind Haven Shaman

Deanna Strandquist is a modern day Shaman who practices Simple Living that feeds your Soul. Find tips and ideas that help you on the journey to simple living. Wind Haven Shaman
This entry was posted in Energy Medicine and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Importance of Ceremony in our Life

  1. Pingback: 2010 in review | Windhavenshaman's Blog

Leave a Reply

